Ensemble works
☜ Menu on the left for other genres!

oo — his own eyes (2018)

8 instruments: flute/piccolo, oboe/lupophone, clarinet/bass clarinet, kontraforte, harp, piano, violin, cello
Commissioned by the ensemble proton bern
First performance: Bern and Basel, October 2018
Duration: 15 mins
Video of the premiere on YouTube:

Let's (2008/2010)
12 players: Flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass
First performance: Stadtbibliothek, Biel, trainee members of the Sinfonie Orchester Biel
Duration: 12 mins

Kurze Geschichte des Warenhauses Jelmoli in drei Phasen (2008)
Soprano, tenor, 14 players: 2 fl., 2 ob., 2 cl., 2 bn., horn, perc., vn., va., vc., cb.
Text by Edward Rushton
Commissioned by the Opernhaus Zürich (to commemorate the 175th anniversary of the founding of the Jelmoli department store in Zurich) for first performance on September 5th, 2008
Duration: ca. 4 mins

Palace (2001)
16 players: Flute (+ piccolo, alto flute), oboe (+ cor anglais), clarinet (+ bass clarinet), bassoon, horn, 2 trumpets (2nd + Flugelhorn), trombone, 4 percussion, piano 4 hands, celesta (+ piano 5th and 6th hands), double bass
Commissioned by the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
First performance: CBSO Centre, Birmingham, 9.xii.2001, by the BCMG cond. James MacMillan
Palace was broadcast on Radio 3's Hear and Now on 21st July 2007 in a performance from April 2007 by the BCMG conducted by Richard Baker
Duration: 20 mins

"Palace is a mature piece for a twentysomething composer. But then Rushton has a distinctive voice, heard here in what is effectively a compact symphony." - John Allison, The Times, 14.xii.2001
"a good-humoured and vibrant work." - Paul Conway, The Independent, 17.xii.2001
"four coherent, subtle but utterly compelling movements." -The Birmingham Post


Lost City Life (1998)
14 players: Picc./flute, 2 clarinets, bassoon, 2 horns, trumpet, trombone, perc. (1), 2 violins, 2 cellos, piano
Commissioned and published by Faber Music for the Millennium Series
First performance: Queen Elizabeth Hall, London, 21.iv.2001, by the London Sinfonietta cond. Pierre-André Valade
Duration: 17 mins